Tipping Laws and Tipped Minimum Wage by State
The tipped minimum wage is the minimum cash wage an employer must pay a tipped employee before tips.
The tip credit is the maximum amount an employer may count in tips toward its minimum-wage obligation.
Last checked October 24, 2026. Source revised July 1, 2026. Source: Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor. Florida's minimum wage is set by Florida Constitution, Article X, Section 24. That section allows a tip credit up to the allowable FLSA tip credit in 2003, which is the federal maximum tip credit on the Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (January 1, 2003), under 29 U.S.C. 203(m). The Florida cash wage is that minimum minus that tip credit. The Minimum Wage in Florida poster states that tipped cash wage. Florida's tipped-employee definition is the Department of Labor figure.
| Jurisdiction | Basic combined cash and tip minimum wage | Maximum tip credit | Minimum cash wage1 | Definition of tipped employee by minimum tips received | As of |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal: Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| State requires employers to pay tipped employees full state minimum wage before tips | |||||
| Alaska | — | — | $14.00 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| California | — | — | $16.90 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| Guam | — | — | $9.25 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| Minnesota | — | — | $11.41 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| MontanaBusiness with gross annual sales over $110,000 | — | — | $10.85 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| MontanaBusiness not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less | — | — | $4.00 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| Nevada | — | — | $12.00 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| OregonThe Oregon minimum wage varies by region. | — | — | $15.55 (standard statewide); $16.80 (Portland metro); $14.55 (nonurban counties) | — | October 24, 2026 |
| Washington | — | — | $17.13 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| State requires employers to pay tipped employees a minimum cash wage above the minimum cash wage required under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ($2.13/hour) | |||||
| Arizona | $15.15 | $3.00 | $12.15 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Arkansas | $11.00 | $8.37 | $2.63 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Colorado | $15.16 | $3.02 | $12.14 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Connecticut2 | $16.94 | — | — | — | October 24, 2026 |
| ConnecticutHotel, restaurant | — | $10.56 | $6.38 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| ConnecticutBartenders who customarily receive tips | — | $8.71 | $8.23 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| Delaware | $15.00 | $12.77 | $2.23 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| District of Columbia3 | $18.40 | $8.10 | $10.30 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Florida4Article X, Section 24(c) sets the minimum wage at $15.00 per hour on September 30, 2026, and allows a tip credit up to the allowable FLSA tip credit in 2003. That 2003 federal tip credit is $3.02. The cash wage is $15.00 minus $3.02. The Minimum Wage in Florida poster states a minimum wage of at least $11.98 per hour for tipped employees. | $15.00 | $3.02 | $11.98 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026Florida Constitution, Article X, Section 24Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees (January 1, 2003)29 U.S.C. 203(m)Minimum Wage in FloridaTipped-employee definition: Minimum Wages for Tipped Employees |
| HawaiiTip Credit in Hawaii is permissible if the combined amount the employee receives from the employer and in tips is at least $7.00 more than the applicable minimum wage. | $16.00 | $1.25 | $14.75 | — | October 24, 2026 |
| Idaho | $7.25 | $3.90 | $3.35 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Illinois | $15.00 | 40% of the applicable minimum wage ($6.00) | $9.00 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Iowa | $7.25 | 40% of the applicable minimum wage ($2.90) | $4.35 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Maine | $15.10 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($7.55) | $7.55 | More than $191 | October 24, 2026 |
| Maryland | $15.00 | $11.37 | $3.63 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Massachusetts | $15.00 | $8.25 | $6.75 | More than $20 | October 24, 2026 |
| Michigan15 | $13.73 | $8.24 | $5.49 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Missouri | $15.00 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($7.50) | $7.50 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| New Hampshire | $7.25 | $3.98 | $3.27 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| New Jersey6 | $15.92 | $9.87 | $6.05 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| New Mexico | $12.00 | $9.00 | $3.00 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| New York | $17.00 (NYC, Long Island, & Westchester); $16.00 (remainder of NY state) | Tipped workers' minimum wage rates vary by region and type of employer. See New York's Minimum Wage: Overview. | — | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| North Dakota | $7.25 | 33% of the applicable minimum wage ($2.39) | $4.86 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Ohio7Employers with annual gross receipts of $405,000 or more | $11.00 | $5.50 | $5.50 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Oklahoma8 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Pennsylvania | $7.25 | $4.42 | $2.83 | $135 per month | October 24, 2026 |
| Rhode Island | $16.00 | $12.11 | $3.89 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| South Dakota | $11.85 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($5.92) | $5.93 | More than $35 | October 24, 2026 |
| Vermont | $14.42 | 50% of the applicable minimum wage ($7.21) | $7.21 | More than $120 | October 24, 2026 |
| Virgin Islands | $10.50 | $6.30 | 40% of the applicable minimum wage ($4.20) | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Wisconsin9 | $7.25 | $4.92 | $2.33 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| West Virginia10 | $8.75 | 70% of the applicable minimum wage ($6.13) | $2.62 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| State minimum cash wage payment is the same as that required under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act ($2.13/hr.) | |||||
| Alabama11 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| American Samoa | Special minimum wage rates | — | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Georgia11 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Indiana | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Kansas12 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| Kentucky | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Louisiana11 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Mississippi11 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Nebraska | $15.00 | $12.87 | $2.13 | Not specified | October 24, 2026 |
| North Carolina13 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $20 | October 24, 2026 |
| Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Puerto Rico | $10.50 | $8.37 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| South Carolina11 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Tennessee11 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Texas12 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $20 | October 24, 2026 |
| Utah12 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Virginia | $12.77 | $10.64 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
| Wyoming14 | $7.25 | $5.12 | $2.13 | More than $30 | October 24, 2026 |
Footnotes
- Other additional deductions are permitted, for example for meals and lodging.
- Connecticut. The Connecticut minimum wage is adjusted annually based on a set formula.
- District of Columbia. Employers must currently pay a minimum cash wage of at least 56% the standard minimum wage and may claim the remaining difference in tip credit.
- Florida. The scheduled increase in this Department of Labor footnote has taken effect.
- New Jersey. An employer is eligible to apply a tip credit against the full state minimum hourly wage only if the tipped employees have been informed in advance of the amount of the cash wage that is to be paid; the amount of the tip credit claimed by the employer; that all tips received must be retained by the employee, except in case of a valid tip pool arrangement limited to tipped employees; and of the requirements of the relevant New Jersey regulations. There is a minimum wage of $15.23 per hour for employers who employ fewer than 6 people and employees engaged in seasonal employment.
- Ohio. For employees of employers with gross annual sales of less than $405,000, the state minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
- Oklahoma. For employers with fewer than 10 full-time employees at any one location who have gross annual sales of $100,000 or less, the basic minimum rate is $2.00 per hour. Employers with ten or more full time employees at any one location or annual gross sales over $100,000 that are not covered by the FLSA can take a tip credit of no more than 50 percent ($3.62) of the applicable minimum wage of $7.25. The State law excludes from coverage any employment that is subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
- Wisconsin. A cash wage of $2.13 per hour may be paid to an opportunity employee -- an employee who is not yet 20 years old and who has been in employment status with a particular employer for 90 or fewer consecutive calendar days from the date of initial employment -- who is a tipped employee. (The minimum wage for opportunity employees is $5.90 per hour.)
- West Virginia. The state minimum wage law applies only to employers with six or more employees and to state agencies.
- The following states do not have state minimum wage laws: Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee. Georgia has a state minimum wage law, but it does not apply to tipped employees. Employers in these states must pay employees covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act at least the federal minimum wage.
- The minimum wage laws in Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah exclude from coverage any employment that is subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
- North Carolina. Tip credit is not permitted unless the employer obtains from each employee, either monthly or each pay period, a signed certification of the amount of tips received. Employers must notify employees in advance of the amount of cash wages they will be paid and the amount that wages will be increased using the tip credit.
- Wyoming. The Wyoming minimum wage is $5.15 per hour. Employers must pay employees covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act at least the federal minimum wage.
- Michigan. The minimum direct cash wage for tipped employees in Michigan is scheduled to increase annually until it reaches 50 percent of the state minimum wage in 2031. Additionally, the Michigan minimum wage is scheduled to increase on January 1, 2027 (to $15.00 per hour); it is then scheduled to be adjusted annually based on a set formula.
Notes from the Department of Labor
Some states set subminimum rates for minors and/or students or exempt them from coverage or have a training wage for new hires. Some local governments set minimum wage rates higher than their respective state minimum wage. Such differential provisions are not displayed in this table.
The Wage and Hour Division tries to ensure that the information on this page is accurate but individuals should consult the relevant state labor office for official information.